The University of Dayton hosted the 2018 NIRSA Regional Basketball Championships on February 9-11 in Dayton, OH. This was the first NIRSA Regional Basketball Championship of the year, and it was an incredibly success event. In total, 224 participants from 11 women’s teams and 8 men’s teams competed in 44 games to crown the tournament champions. Pool-play games on Friday and Saturday led to an exciting day of tournament play on Sunday. The Ohio State University defeated Ohio University 40-33 in the women’s championship, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison defeated Northern Colorado University in the men’s championship. Congratulations to both teams, and good luck at the national tournament!


Additionally, 21 student officials and 37 professional staff/graduate assistants from 32 different institutions volunteered at the tournament. The All-Tournament Officials were Kristian Pullam (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater), Quaniece “Q” Spearman (Mercer University), Jack Schmiesing (Miami University – Ohio), and Leah Johnson (University of Wisconsin-Madison). All officials and staff volunteers did an amazing job, and the tournament would not have been successful without their hard work and dedication. Thank you to all who attended!

Men’s Tournament:

  • Champions: University of Wisconsin – White
  • Runner-ups: University of Northern Colorado
  • All-Tournamentteam:
    • Trevor McQueeney – MVP (University of Northern Colorado)
    • Marcus Johnson (University of Northern Colorado)
    • Brian Mays (University of Wisconsin – White)
    • Jordan Nolle (University of Wisconsin – White)
    • John Oyler (University of Louisville Diaper Dandies)

Women’s Tournament:

  • Champions: The Ohio State University
  • Runner-ups: Ohio University
  • All-Tournamentteam:
    • Kelly Wurth – MVP (The Ohio State University)
    • Monique Evans (The Ohio State University)
    • Lauren Herron (Ohio University)
    • Elizabeth Smith (Ohio University)
    • Rachel Blake (University of Dayton)

All-Tournament Officials:

  • Kristian “Kris” Pullam (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater)
  • Quaniece “Q” Spearman (Mercer University)
  • Jack Schmiesing (Miami University – Ohio)
  • Leah Johnson (University of Wisconsin-Madison)